Press "Enter" to skip to content

An internship at TELOTA: Report

Between May 27 and August 9, 2019, I worked as a full time intern at TELOTA, BBAW.

The conference "Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum" (DHd 2019, see also associated conference report) resulted in an internship, which fitted great in my half-year break between finishing my bachelor's degree (B.A. Library Management) at the Potsdam University of Applied Sciences and starting my master's degree (M.A. Information Sciences) at Humboldt University in Berlin. Here I would like to discuss my different tasks and learning experiences in this internship.

The institution

The Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW)

"The Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities is a learned society with a three-hundred-year-old tradition of uniting outstanding scholars and scientists across national and disciplinary boundaries. [...] As the largest non-university research institute for the humanities in the Berlin-Brandenburg region, it preserves and reveals the region’s cultural inheritance [...]."
bbaw.de/en

TELOTA (The Electronic Life Of The Academy)

"is the digitalization initiative of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Its main task is the development of tools that enable a digital creation, documentation and presentation of research findings by the academy." (own translation)
bbaw.de/telota/ueber_uns

Tasks

During my internship, I supported the long-term project on the Prussian Monarchy ↓ and the project correspSearch ↓ . However, in the first days of the internship, I was given the opportunity to extend my knowledge towards the tasks ahead and also acquire completely new knowledge. Taking advantage of the material and tips I was provided with, I updated my XML/XSLT skills. In addition, I learned some programming basics with an online course on programming with Python.

Prussian Monarchy

The long-term project “Anpassungsstrategien der späten mitteleuropäischen Monarchie am preußischen Beispiel 1786 bis 1918” ("Adaptation strategies of the late Central European monarchy using the Prussian example 1786 to 1918", own translation) examines

"the development of the monarchy using the Prussian example in the 19th century in an European and global perspective […]" (own translation)
bbaw.de/forschung/preussen

One of my tasks was to convert existing organizational charts (which should serve as a description and visualization of Prussian court structures) from a static format to an XML/TEI format so that they can be integrated into the project's website and dynamically searched, expanded or integrated elsewhere. I also worked on an XSLT file, which automatically performs some of the transformation steps required for this.

screenshot residential topography

Afterwards, I dealt with the presentation of geographic data in a geographic information system (GIS) and with making these data visible and accessible via a corresponding web application. An interactive map with an integrated search for persons and institutions as well as filters for categories based on professions and types of institutions needed to be created for the subpage of the residential topography on their website.Therefore, I first familiarized myself with QGIS, a software for mapping geographic information, and tried to gain an understanding on the previous data collection procedure, which data was already collected and where I could entry this process. This is where I soon realized, how important a comprehensive concept towards the whole process is, starting already with collection of data. With regard to the future production of similar maps for further reference years of the residential topography, I made appropriate considerations and documented them. The map, which is finally shown on the website, is based on the open source JavaScript library Leaflet. Besides Leaflet, I needed to learn more about the underlying data format geoJSON as well as JavaScript itself. Using the qgis2web plugin , I created a first web map, which was then adapted by me according to the specifications of the project. The result will be published in the future on the website of the Prussian Monarchy (the beta phase is expected to go online at the end of October).

CorrespSearch

“The web service correspSearch is based on digital letter indexes that are available online and written in the Correspondence Metadata Interchange (CMI) Format.”
correspsearch.net

In a second internship project I dealt with the automated extraction of letter metadata from a printed edition. I began to learn more about correspSearch as a project, but also about the underlying data format Correspondence Metadata Interchange Format (CMIF), and I developed an understanding of the essential steps in the process of automatically generating metadata records. After digitizing (scanning & OCRing) the table of contents of some of the volumes on Georg Forster's works (= a large edition of letters between Georg Forster and his family or other influential researchers/explorers at that time), I created Python scripts for transforming the raw texts into corresponding CSV files as well as for conversing the dates of the letters listed into a standardized date format (ISO). Although the latter has already been implemented comprehensively (see web service “Dates” of the Person Data Repository), this approach allowed me to develop an understanding of the complexity of such applications and to write a similar small program in its basic functionality myself. In addition, I used another Python script for the transformation of CSV files into the CMI format and Open Refine to check the OCR results for any mistakes. Here again, I recognized the relevance of structuring and simplifying your workflow.

Learning success and evaluation

My overall learning success was very high. I was able to extend my theoretical knowledge in the area of XML significantly through these more practical projects. In addition, I gained a lot of new knowledge, for instance some programming basics, but also concerning more practical issues, such as digital workflows, tools and methods. (Co-)Working on real projects was one of the aspects I liked most about this internship. Thereby, you do not only get concrete results, but also a realistic work situation including typical errors. By developing certain strategies for problem solving, the personal learning effect was particularly high.

During my internship I always felt very welcome and (despite some initial uncertainties regarding my own programming skills) I was able to settle in quickly. It was very positive that I was asked about my interests even before the internship started and that these were considered in the subsequent planning of the internship as well. There was always time for discussing questions and problems. Different colleagues provided me with helpful tips as well as software and tool suggestions. I was able to participate in various meetings and events and felt very well integrated into the team. An internship plan gave me a rough structure and yet I was able to work flexibly and independently on the tasks I was given.

I can only recommend this internship at TELOTA, especially for students with a disciplinary background in the Digital Humanities, Computer and Information Sciences. If you are enthusiastic about topics related to the digital publication of humanities content and/or the development of research software, you have come to the right place. If this report raised your interest in such an internship, you are very welcome to contact me and I will gladly pass this on.

Cite this article as: Schneider (2019), "An internship at TELOTA: Report", in Infolog. https://infowissblog.de/en/index.php/ein-praktikum-bei-telota-erfahrungsbericht/. Accessed on August 13, 2020.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

English
German English

Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ein Praktikum bei TELOTA: Erfahrungsbericht

Vom 27. Mai bis zum 09. August 2019 absolvierte ich bei TELOTA an der BBAW ein Vollzeitpraktikum.

Aus der Konferenz “Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum” (DHd 2019, siehe auch zugehöriger Konferenzbericht) ergab sich für mich ein Praktikum, welches sich praktischerweise gut in das halbe Jahr Pause zwischen dem Abschluss meines Bachelorstudiums (Bibliotheksmanagement, B.A.) an der FH Potsdam und dem Beginn des Masterstudiums (Information Science, M.A.) an der HU Berlin einbauen ließ. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich unter anderem über meine Aufgabenbereiche und Lernerfolge in dem genannten Praktikum berichten.

Die Einrichtung

Die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW)

“ist eine Fach- und Ländergrenzen überschreitende Vereinigung herausragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit über 300-jähriger Tradition. […] Als größte außeruniversitäre geisteswissenschaftliche Forschungseinrichtung in der Region Berlin-Brandenburg sichert und erschließt sie kulturelles Erbe.”
bbaw.de

TELOTA (The Electronic Life Of The Academy)

“ist die Digitalisierungsinitiative der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Ihre Aufgabe ist es, Werkzeuge zu entwickeln, mit denen die Forschungsergebnisse der Akademie digital erarbeitet, dokumentiert und präsentiert werden können.”
bbaw.de/telota/ueber_uns

Aufgaben

Während meiner Praktikumszeit arbeitete ich primär bei dem Vorhaben zur Preußischen Monarchie↓ und dem Projekt correspSearch ↓ mit. In den ersten Tagen des Praktikums erhielt ich jedoch zunächst die Möglichkeit, mein Wissen bezüglich der bevorstehenden Aufgaben zu vertiefen sowie mir neues Wissen anzueignen. Mit den mir zu Verfügung gestellten Materialien und Tipps zu verschiedenen Ressourcen aktualisierte ich meine XML/XSLT-Kenntnisse. Zusätzlich lernte ich mit einem Online-Kurs zur Programmiersprache Python erste Grundlagen des Programmierens kennen und arbeitete ich mich eigenständig in eine mir bislang nur sehr flüchtig bekannte Programmiersprache ein.

Preußische Monarchie

Das Vorhaben “Anpassungsstrategien der späten mitteleuropäischen Monarchie am preußischen Beispiel 1786 bis 1918” untersucht

“die Entwicklung der Monarchie am preußischen Beispiel im 19. Jahrhundert in europäischer und globaler Perspektive […].”
bbaw.de/forschung/preussen

Eine meiner Aufgaben bestand darin, bestehende Organigramme (welche der Beschreibung und Visualisierung Preußischer Hofstrukturen dienen sollten) aus einem statischen Format in ein XML/TEI-Format zu überführen, sodass diese in die Webseite des Vorhabens eingebunden und dynamisch durchsucht, erweitert oder z. B. an anderer Stelle erneut integriert werden können. Zudem arbeitete ich an einer XSLT-Datei, welche einige der hierfür benötigten Transformationsschritte automatisiert durchführt.

Screenshot Wohntopographie

Anschließend beschäftigte ich mich mit der Darstellung geografischer Daten in einem Geoinformationssystem (GIS) und der Sichtbar- und Zugänglichmachung dieser Daten über eine entsprechende Webanwendung. Für die Unterseite der Wohntopographie des Akademievorhabens sollte eine interaktive Karte mit einer integrierten Suche für Personen und Institutionen sowie Filtern für Berufskategorien und Arten von Institutionen entstehen. Hierfür arbeitete ich mich zunächst in das Programm QGIS ein und versuchte, ein Verständnis über das Vorgehen bei der Datenaufnahme, die bereits erhobenen Daten sowie mögliche Anknüpfungspunkte zu gewinnen. Hier wurde mir schnell die Relevanz eines umfassenden Konzepts, welches bereits die Erfassung der Daten betrifft, klar. Im Hinblick auf die zukünftige Erstellung ähnlicher Karten für weitere Stichjahre der Wohntopographie stellte ich entsprechende Überlegungen an und hielt diese in Form einer Dokumentation fest. Die Karte, die schlussendlich auf der Webseite zu sehen ist, basiert auf der Open Source JavaScript-Library Leaflet. Neben Leaflet musste ich mich für bestimmte Fragestellungen auch in das zugrundeliegende Datenformat geoJSON sowie in JavaScript einarbeiten. Mithilfe des qgis2web-Plugins erzeugte ich eine erste Web-Karte, welche dann von mir nach den Vorgaben des Vorhabens entsprechend angepasst wurde. Das Ergebnis soll zukünftig auf der Webseite zur Preußischen Monarchie einsehbar sein (die Beta-Phase geht voraussichtlich Ende Oktober online).

CorrespSearch

“The web service correspSearch is based on digital letter indexes that are available online and written in the Correspondence Metadata Interchange (CMI) Format.”
correspsearch.net

In einem zweiten Praktikumsprojekt beschäftigte ich mich mit der automatisierten Extraktion von Briefmetadaten aus einer gedruckten Edition. Ich arbeitete mich in das Projekt correspSearch und das zugrundeliegende Datenformat Correspondence Metadata Interchange Format (CMIF) ein und entwickelte ein Verständnis für die wesentlichen Schritte bei der automatisierten Erfassung von Metadaten. Nach dem Einscannen und der Texterkennung von Inhaltsverzeichnissen einiger Bände aus den Werken Georg Forsters erstellte ich Python-Skripte für die Transformation der rohen Texte in entsprechende CSV-Dateien sowie die Umwandlung der Datumsangabe in ein standardisiertes Datumsformat (ISO). Obwohl letzteres bereits zuvor deutlich umfassender umgesetzt wurde (siehe Webservices “Dates” des Personendaten-Repositoriums), ermöglichte mir dieses Vorgehen zum einen, ein Verständnis für die Komplexität solcher Anwendungen zu entwickeln, und zum anderen, ein ähnliches kleines Programm in seiner Grundfunktion selbst zu schreiben. Zusätzlich nutzte ich ein Python-Skript für die Transformation von CSV Dateien in das CMI-Format nach und verwendete Open Refine, um die OCR-Ergebnisse auf ihre Richtigkeit zu prüfen. Auch erkannte ich hierbei die Relevanz einer Struktuierung und Vereinfachung des Workflows.

Lernerfolg und Einschätzung

Generell würde ich meinen Lernerfolg als sehr hoch einschätzen. Mein theoretisches Grundlagenwissen im Bereich XML konnte ich durch die Praxisprojekte deutlich vertiefen. Zudem erlangte ich viel neues Wissen, beispielsweise in einigen Grundlagen des Programmierens, aber auch in Bezug auf eher praktische Aspekte wie digitale Arbeitsweisen, Tools und Methoden. Gerade die (Mit-)Arbeit an Projekten gefiel mir besonders gut. Hierdurch erhält man nicht nur fassbare Ergebnisse, sondern auch eine reale Arbeits- und Fehlersituation. Der Lerneffekt und die Entwicklung von Strategien zur Problemlösung waren dabei besonders hoch.

In meinem Praktikum habe ich mich stets sehr willkommen gefühlt und konnte mich (trotz einiger anfänglicher Unsicherheiten in Bezug auf meine eigenen Programmierkenntnisse) schnell einleben. Sehr positiv empfand ich, dass noch vor Beginn des Praktikums nach meinen Interessen gefragt wurde und diese auch in der darauffolgenden Planung des Praktikumsablaufs berücksichtigt wurden. Die AnsprechpartnerInnen nahmen sich immer Zeit für Fragen und Probleme. Gerade hier fiel mir auf, dass ich häufig von verschiedenen MitarbeiterInnen mit hilfreichen Tipps sowie Hinweisen auf Software und Werkzeuge versorgt wurde. Auch anderweitig wurde ich sehr gut in das Team eingebunden und konnte an verschiedenen Sitzungen und Veranstaltungen teilnehmen. Der Praktikumsplan gab mir eine grobe Struktur vor und dennoch konnte ich flexibel und selbstständig an den mir gestellten Aufgaben arbeiten.

Ein Praktikum bei TELOTA kann ich nur empfehlen, insbesondere für Studierende aus den Bereichen Digital Humanities, Informatik und Informationswissenschaft. Wer sich z.B. für Themen rund um die digitale Publikation geisteswissenschaftlicher Inhalte und/oder für die Entwicklung von Forschungssoftware begeistert, ist meiner Meinung nach hier genau richtig. Falls ich jetzt bei jemandem Interesse an einem solchen Praktikum geweckt habe, könnt ihr mich gerne kontaktieren, ich leite das dann gerne weiter.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *